Does FM need a Match Engine?

I have been playing SI developed Football Management games for 27 years (yes since CM2), I never wanted or expected a comprehensive match engine for the game, other aspects of the game interested me more, the day to day running of the club, building squads, tactics etc, when the Match engine was introduced, I saw it as a gimmick, to add to the match day experience, all it needed to do was show match highlights, incidents, in no way do you need to watch the whole match, a FM season takes long enough to complete anyway. Unfortunately with every new FM release a improved match engine becomes a more important  part of the new features of the game, meaning that it gets more attention from the community, as it is generally not as impressive as the rest of the game and for some reason every new edition of the game starts with the same match engine bugs, as the previous edition started with, not developed on from the latest update of the previous edition (this has always puzzled me),  people end up reporting the same bugs after every new release. I for one would be happy if SI decided that the ME was only for highlights and match incidents and concentrated on making other areas of the game more in depth, i.e day to running of the club, player interactions (which up to the announced changes for FM21 had the same issue for around 4 editions), staff interactions lots of things can be added or fleshed out, the ME needs to be a side aspect of the game, not a main feature.

1 hour ago, pcws1979 said: