FM is Rigged!

FM is rigged

That title is sure to get the attention.

A while back, I encountered someone on a forum saying FM is rigged. That it decides before a game who will win and that there is nothing you can do to change the outcome. This particular poster said that he went up against a team as the clear favourites with morale being okay and he just couldn’t win the game. He reloaded (always a no-no in my book!) about 20 times and the best result he could get, was a draw. Different tactic tried. No matter what happened, he just couldn't win this game. Clearly something is wrong with the ME. Why can’t the favourites walk all over their weak opponents?

This is where I came in. I’m not a tactical expert or anything close to that, but I asked him to upload his save so that I could have a look. I was given the team of SJ Ver and their next game vs Freamunde. This is what I found:

The squad:

oKJgbTJ.png

Now as you can see, there are a few issues already. 3 of his first 11 players are not match fit, so they won’t be at their best. A few of the better players are either on the bench or not in the match-day squad at all! I can only assume that he rested players in the game before. Looking at the stats, it’s strange to see Nani not starting more games and even stranger that Machadinho is a regular. Morale is good enough, so no issue there though.

Squad Mental State

This is something that gets easily over-looked, but it can help tip the scales in your favour. As mentioned earlier, morale is good enough. They’re on a run of 4 straight draws in the league. 5 draws if you include a penalty shoot-out win 2 games ago in the Cup.

The assistant tells me they’ve “attained a good level of understanding” which isn’t bad, but it’s not great either.

The last match was a dull 0-0 at home. We managed 5 shots with 1 on target. The opposition (14th) had 7 shots and 0 on target.