How did you learn FM?

We all know Football Manager is an extremely overwhelming game at times, and at times can even lead people to stop playing.

Personally I've been playing FM since 2016 but I'm constantly taking huge breaks due to the fact that learning the game requires so much time and effort.

So I was thinking how have other players learned how to play this game? Do they just keep playing and learn it by themselves or do they watch YouTube tutorials?

Feel like it would be an interesting subject to see how others have learned to play this game and possibly me or another person who struggles to learn the game might pick up a few ideas!

I have been playing  this franchise for nearly 25 years, so it has been a long learning curve, based mostly on trial and error.. Some of the guides published are very useful, but are not always just a plug in to your own game, so I have read and watched, but make my own decisions and mistakes

90% it was just a case of I downloaded the game, started the application, clicked "new career" and went from there. I don't know if I've ever actually been sacked - in my first FM I got pretty good at buying myself more time then finding a new job as I always started on recommended badge / experience levels so wasn't hamstrung there. Then I started looking at stuff online - first just fmscout's wonderkid lists, then had great success copying a couple of tactics from Passion4FM - a Mourinho one for FM15 and a Tiki-Taka one for FM16 - which eventually led me to strikerless.com, which had a tactics article posted over from here (O-zil's Bielsa thread), which then led me to this place. That's where I took my tactics to the next level, but everything else about the game I'd worked out myself and was quite happy downloading tactics (still occasionally will) and getting more into all the other areas of the game.