What are your do's and dont's of making a tactic

I am a tactical newbie. Ive played for years watch football religiously and yet have absolutely zero understanding of how to make a tactic. I am going to grind hard for FM 19 to become even semi competent at making a steady tactic next year. Does anyone have any must haves in every tactic or something to 100% avoid, be it with roles, partnerships, player instructions, team instructions... Anything it really will help

Have a plan before you start. Something you want to achieve... Write a bullet point or two down on paper. That makes it a lot easier to make decisions about formation, roles, duty, mentality all work together cohesively. 

I refer to it as 'putting a stake in the ground' (something i use on work projects too... Something has to be fixed as a start point otherwise how do you make decisions, how do you judge the success, how do you know when things are going wrong... Etc) 

That stake, in tactic terms, can be a style;possesion vs direct, counter vs domination... Or it could be a particular role you want to use or maybe a star player you want to build around.

Once that decision is made you'll gradually find everything else fits into place fairly easily. 

For starters, start simple.

Think of what kind of football you want to play. Do you want to control possession and slowly make your way towards goal or do you want to get the ball forward quickly and open defences with through balls into space? Do you want to be restrained and draw out the opposition or do you want to pressure them relentlessly and pin them in their third?

Next, begin with a common formation, like 4-4-2 or some variant of wide 4-3-3. Stick to flexible shape. Use straight-forward roles and keep team instructions to a minimum.