Most Balanced Match Engine?

Hey guys. Please give me some recommendations; which FM has the most balanced match engine?

I'm a veteran FM player, played more than 1k hours with FM13, but skipped every game since then. I really like to play defensive tactics like catenaccio and slow tempo tiki-taka. I had huge successes with these kinds of tactics in older FMs, winning leagues with mid-level teams.

Wanted to get back into FM, so I bought FM24 and after ~150 hours of playing, I'm truly disappointed. Match engine is broken, it's all about high tempo and pressing, nothing else works.

For me, one of the most rewarding and addictive features in the older FMs was the tactical variety. That I could succeed with any kind of tactic if I had the right players. It was super addictive starting new saves and playing with different approaches, succeeding with many different tactical styles.

Which FM would you recommend for me? Many people seem to praise FM17 as one of the better match engines. Should I give that one a try, or it's also just about high tempo and pressing?

• Replies 225
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm not sure how far they go back on Steam, but may be worth checking out a few demos 

I always like FM17, I think FM15 was pretty decent too. They feel dated going back and playing those games now though 

You can certainly play low tempo and not press at all. If I am an underdog I am not playing fast or pressing Man City or PSG or Barca. If I wanted try to keep close. But I'm also not going into a shell. 

You can have a sound defense. However I would say anything below balanced for mentality and your chances to win drop like a lead balloon. 

The other question is can you do it 100% of the time?

The weaker the team the more defensive they will play if you are also playing defensive well you are gonna draw.