Real life managers and the team shape+mentality they use (discussion)

Hello everybody

By creating this topic, I'd like to raise some discussion about the philosophy of real life managers. Apart from the formation and the player roles, it is the combination of mentality and team shape that defines the recognizable style of a team, and, more precisely, of the manager.

Mentality and team shape are the two team instructions that are the most prone to confusion, misunderstandings and misconception. Thanks to some excellent post and guides on this forum, a lot of this is clarified. I've learned that mentality defines risk, passing style, tempo width etc, while team shape affects the fastness of the transitions, the deviation of the mentality and the depth of a formation.

But that's all very technical. I've been a real life football manager myself, I have coaching licenses, but I still tend to struggle to translate the ideas of real life managers to FM settings. Most especially their mentality/team shape combination.

Years and years ago, in the pre-tactic creator era, there was an expansive guide by wwfan and millie that had a topic about the possible mentality settings (rule of one, rule of two etc.). In that guide, there were real life examples of the different mentality systems. I'm quoting a paraphrase (found it on fm-base.co.uk after googeling it):

The Nike Defence

Manager Type: José Mourinho