Any suggestions on how I can create more through balls?

Could a mod please move this to the tactics forum?  I just realized I put this in the wrong spot.  Guess I was more worried about getting these screenshots right for the first time.

57989fff8d62272dfd8bf9c657093017.png

db2206d216e73f4bdf7951ba1c8617c7.png

Hope this comes out right.  This is my first time doing screen shots.

I am trying to create more through balls.  Most of my goals come from crosses.  I have told my wing backs to play less crosses and fewer risky passes.  I also play this formation on structured as well.  I've also played around with adding passes into space, roaming, shorter passes, higher tempo.  I'm tying to create more movement and through ball opportunities.  Last season I score the most goals in the league and 3rd best at conceding.  I'm just not playing the football I want to play.  I would like short, quick passing and more through balls that result in goals.  Any tips on achieving this?

Through ball from where? Who's supposed to assist who? How? You have a fairly static and supportive midfield as CM(S) don't move much, and APs even on Attack duties are very supportive players; nevermind the DLP(D) who's just a holding midfielder who's easier on the ball than the other holding options. Then you have two strikers upfront and WBs covering the width. As you can see with the grind, there's not much activity between your midfielders and your strikers. So your system is designed to score from crosses to begin with: your midfielders will seek your your wingers since they're the guys going forward, who will do their thing, punt a cross and if it works you score. Every once in a while the DLF(S) will drop to get the ball, and the only players who make runs are the WB so he gives the ball to them unless he hoofs it to his CF partner. If they're not available, he (hopefully) gives it back to the midfielders, rinse and repeat until you get an opening. That's about it.