Best AI and match engine in FM2006-2009

Hi to all, newbie here.

Sorry in advance if I posted it in inappropriate forum section.

I'm a fan of older (VERY older) versions of FM, namely from 2006 to 2009 (until a new fashionable GUI appeared, in fact). Still (paradoxically) having not so much experience in them (I just recently rediscovered scratched-over CD boxes in a long-forgotten carton box).

So I'd want to ask the elders of football wars and hear from true veterans of the series, in which version from 2006 to 2009 the match AI and match engine (does not matter it being 2D or - as in case of 2009 - 3D) are the most relevant, realistic and similar to natural physics and mechanics of players acting, ball flying and goals scoring.

Thanks in advance.

My first one was 2008 (skipped the next to then bought 2011). But, whilst this is subjective somewhat, this is from one of the "veterans" of that time. It's not specifically adressing those Editions, but covers them up to the changes made towards 2011. As hinted at: The playing experience is not merely an experience of ME; but also how AI Managers manages Matches, inevitably. Except for if you're playing online, AI Managers after all make up the majority of the game world. This is apparent even in the current Editions. In particular top Teams as of the current Edition/s Play against AI Managers who would extremely shut up shop quite regularly, which naturally has an effect on Play and the amount of Goals typically scored… If this assessment is true that Players would have followed instructions in FM07 like "robots", and that the AI could do Little to disrupt the player's plan, that may explain why it appears still a minor fan favorite. Maybe worth a try.

Edited by Svenc

Quite a helpful link, Svenc, thanks.