Why aren't assistant managers promoted to managers?

I admit I am relatively new to FM, so maybe my observation is not 100% correct, but my feeling is that there's never any assistant manager who just takes the job if the main manager is sacked. And I am not talking about interim trainer, I am talking full time.

This, in my experience, happens quite a lot in real world football. At least in the German Bundesliga it does. Certainly, we are talking about the bit smaller Bundesliga clubs here, but from the top of my head, we have several teams being managed by former assistants. Wiesinger in Nürnberg, Keller in Schalke, Streich in Freiburg and Lewandowski in Leverkusen immediatly come to mind (and Schalke and Leverkusen are actually very big clubs...).

So... is this something rather typically German and does not happen in the PL, and therefore is not being implemented in the code?

So far, whenever new trainers are being sought, the clubs are looking all kind of places, even bringing in a ridiculous amount of foreign trainers. At the moment in my FM2013 Bundesliga save, at least a third of the German clubs are coached by Dutch or Italien trainers. Seems a bit odd to me...

Nice question indeed...I have played for FM for the last decade and never really seen it, but truth be I don't usually check for that.

I can add to your list Vitor Pereira (FC Porto current manager) that was AVB Assistant Manager!

So I wonder if it also happens in FM or only in real life?

I'm playing in Bundesliga and in season 4 Braunschweig sacked their manager and promoted the assistant to caretaker until the end of the season.

I was surprised , and thought it was a really nice touch, as just a few days ago a similar thread was bemoaning the lack of caretaker managers and manager's trial periods.

So I guess it does happen in game, just not very often.