PPM in general - really a bonus?

I am relatively new to FM but have spent the last weeks playing and playing, reading and reading and absorbing information.

My question is: Are PPMs really something to strive for?

As I understand it, a PPM can only be learned (and, more importantly: used effectively) if you have the right attributes anyway. In that case, a PPM either "overwrites" a tactical order (like a defensive DM that "tries killer balls often" and thus attempts more through balls than his tactical order says) or it just emphasizes a move that this player might do anyway, given his attributes.

So... if a player has the right attributes to do something, and also the tactical order, isn't it more or less useless to also let him have the PPM "on top of that"? Would a winger on the left not always "run down left" in any case, because that's simply what he should do as a left-winger?

I just read the "Shoots with power vs. places shots"-Thread, where people were arguing if a player can place a shot without having the "places shots" PPM, and from what I understand, he can of course do that. So learning the PPM will just limit his tactical creativity because there might be opportunities when he should NOT do it to get a goal.

At the same time, learning PPMs needs a lot of time, effort and capacity that otherwise could be channeled into the progress of attributes.

So, can somebody explain to me why and how he uses the achievement of new PPMs for a player, and how exactly this changes their behaviour? I'd be very happy for any clarification on that.

Because the right attributes doesn't mean that he will do the right thing anyway, poor decisions and the necessary stats can result in making the wrong move at a wrong time, but do it perfectly.