4-3-3 Atalanta - All Bark, No Bite.

Just the other day, I posted a thread asking at what point do you all stop 'playing' with your tactics until you are happy with how it plays.

I had some really great replies from it and I was able to make some really positive changes to my tactic. 

I have been playing the FM series since 2009, and Championship Manager before it and this is the first edition where I promised I would get to understand the tactical systems better - as I was always a plug and play merchant. I am satisfied with what I have managed to learn and implement in a week and I am constantly reading and learning however I would like to discuss and get some advice from my tactic so I can better improve it. 

Now, a little back story wouldn't go a miss so basically the football I would like to play (and have been trying to play) is pass move pass move pass move, and if you lose the ball, win it back. Sounds dead simple, right? I think other people might call it Possession football with intent. 

Now, thanks to @04texag I decided, again, for the first time in my career as an FM manage to work with a club DNA. This DNA has made me rethink the way I scout, sign and develop my players.

For me, being able to keep hold of the ball means my players need to have >14 in Passing, Technique, OTB and Decisions. And to press with intent, they need >14 in Work Rate, Aggression and Bravery (although these two are not a deal breaker, to be fair) 

Off the bat, the Atalanta players didn't really excel in these attributes. We were pretty much average in comparison the rest of the Serie A so I didn't expect wonders and knew I would need to evolve and develop the players I had and that the tactic wouldn't be an instant success. 

1.thumb.png.6295446cfe2b2e247f29e5543f4389c9.png

So, to finish first was a really nice surprise.