Wow this fm is hard

Hi everyone I have to say this fm 20 is one of the hardest I’ve played and I’ve played all the way back to champ manager days

Now I’m no expert but got a good track record of getting teams promoted but this version I’m struggling 

sorry I can’t post a screenshot of my tactics as I’m away from the laptop 

At the moment it’s 2021 and I’ve taken over at Newcastle who have recently been relegated to the championship and I’ve overhauled the squad and brought in 6 players and the team is ranked the best in every stat and statistic and promotion should be a formality but I’m struggling so much and I have no idea why as this squad is the best in the league 

We have proven premiership players but can’t get a tactic to gel 

After blowing Derby away first game of the season we have lost our next 4 and seriously need help

My formation and tactics are a basic 4-1-4-1

sw support 

Fb attack

Cd-defend

Cd-defend

lwb-defend

Dm-defend

lw support 

Rcm-dlp support 

lcm-cm defend

Rm-Inverted winger attack

pf support 

not many team instruction apart from high d line and high engament

I think the cm's have to static roles for the formation you use, right now all 3 midfielders will sit back, hold shape and shield the defence, when the main point of using a dmc  in this formation is that it will free up the cm's to be more involved in attack play

On 22/12/2019 at 16:00, Ciderarmy said:

I’ve taken over at Newcastle who have recently been relegated to the championship and I’ve overhauled the squad and brought in 6 players and the team is ranked the best in every stat and statistic and promotion should be a formality

If your team is the strongest in the league, why then have you opted for such a defensive formation as the flat 4141?

I was originally playing a 4-3-3 with a dm but I keep getting hit over the top even though d line was standard probably due to my Xbox sakho not having great pace