Two-Footed Player Experiment

I've been playing FM since 07 and have always been curious as to why two footed players have worse stats than single footed players. Just to be clear, this isn't a question of CA/PA, but rather why the mechanic exists in the game. My curiosity extended to a question I'd like to posit (below) and hopefully answer with some regression analysis. The problem I'm running into is extracting all the data/variables I need run the experiment properly. So before I go on a long diatribe about a research question and possible methodologies, I'd like to first know if it is at all possible to extract in-game data and statistics at a large scale. I know I can get their attributes from genie scout but I'm running into trouble with extracting match statistics. Is it all possible to automate extracting match data on a large scale?

If yes, I'll continue, if no, I'll have to think of a less elegant way to run my experiment. As a side note I'm a statistician by day and (currently) Rupel Boom manager by night on FM 16.

So with all of that said, here's my proposed idea. I'd be willing to accept help from anyone who is interested in this idea.

The research question is do two footed players have a significantly lower average match rating than one footed players?

Methodology: