How To Play Cautious and Low Block Football

I think there is a significant difference between playing with a low block and playing defensive football.

Playing with a low block can still have the intention to send (many) players forward to score after winning possession. Or to build up slowly with also players moving forward. And eventhough im not an expert for spanish football, i think thats actually what Atletico is doing most of the time.

I've went to youtube and looked up all laliga goals from last season for atletico and i noticed, that there are quite often 6-8 players around the box / in the final third whenever they score. And like 4 players inside the box.

Playing defensive football on the other hand (at least from my point of view) has the intention to primarily defend and maybe take the game into a later stage or maybe take away 1 point from a big team or luckily score some random goal from whatever. And thats also why it makes completely sense to increase the number of defend duties if your really wanna shut your goal down.

Edited by CARRERA

Good post Jack and subject to tackle.  Too many things to mention that I agree with.  Just a couple of points I'd query (not challenge) is that a lower DL on a defensive mentality seems to invite long shots and in FM land one of those has a tendency to fly in late on and stun you.  Also I get the principle you outline about lateral compactness, but again in FM land, I find that if it isn't standard then wide players aren't engaged properly and a pinpoint accurate cross sooner or later ends up on someone's bonce.  You could make a case for those type of things being match engine flaws though both seem to me to have been around for many versions.

Anyway I hope you get some great feedback from this thread.

3 hours ago, CARRERA said:

I think there is a significant difference between playing with a low block and playing defensive football.