Has anybody ever lost the league ... after making it big?

I am new to the later editions of FM but remember that once you had created a team that made you champions, it was pretty much given that you would win the league every year after that. Cup games where a different thing, but over a complete season your team would always be so strong that you would come up as winners. Is this still the same in FM nowadays?

I won the league two years running and then suddenly lost to a Man U who had the most incredible run. The first 3 years the points were very close at the top end of season though. Last 4 years however, I have won pretty convincingly as the team just gets better each year and its hard to see anyone narrow that gap. 

I must admit that I actually liked (although frustrating) that a team could manage to beat me after having become champions the first time. That never use to happen and just added to your motivation to build an even better team. It also looks better in the history of the league to have that occasional team have a great season and win... as long of course as you dominate most of the time. :-)

Last two years I have won pretty much everything. League, cups and champions league. Now after buying the best striker in the World from Chelsea, the team has again taken a step up and now I have two absolute world class players in every position. Once you have reached that level... is it possible for an AI controlled team to build a team that can challenge you?  

Edited by coppicat

I played for 5 seasons in the Swedish Premier Division before winning the title twice in a row before only winning it once in the next 5 years, but then I went 10 years in a row.