FM 10...the Jack Rodwell thread...finally!

dz47

I couldn't believe that there wasn't already a thread for Jack Rodwell, even though he is a fairly well known player. So even though i've never done one before, I decided it was time to make my first player thread! This won't be as good as other threads, but at least it will give an opportunity to discuss the player, and more importantly, show just how great a player he can become!

rodwell.jpg

Jack Christian Rodwell (born 11 March 1991 in Southport, England) is an English footballer currently playing for Everton. A midfielder, Rodwell has represented his country at Under-16, Under-17, Under-19 and Under 21 levels.

An Everton supporter as a child, Rodwell joined the club's youth system at the age of seven, making his Under-18s debut at 14 and his debut for Everton's reserve team at the age of 15. Rodwell then broke a record on his senior debut becoming the youngest player to represent Everton in Europe when he came on as a substitute against Dutch team AZ at the age of 16 years and 284 days.

In March 2008, he appeared as a substitute on his Premier League debut – before also featuring as a replacement in the final game of the season, replacing Tim Cahill in a 1–0 victory over Sunderland, and signed his first professional contract with Everton on 17 March 2008. He made his first professional start against Blackburn Rovers on 16 August 2008, playing the full 90 minutes. Rodwell scored his first senior goal for Everton in the FA Cup against Aston Villa in February 2009. That same month, he signed a 5-year contract with Everton, which expires in 2014.