After 15 Years Of Playing I'm Still Lost.

Alright everyone. A little background before I explain about why I'm posting this thread.. I have been playing the Championship Manager/Football Manager series since CM 01/02 so I'm no newbie to the series. I'd say I'm average at the game, I do alright every year, my goal is always the same, take my hometown of Shrewsbury to the Premier League title and I usually achieve that so I like to think I can't be awful haha.

Anyway, that goal is the same this year and I'm currently in my 9th season with them sitting mid table in the league at the January mark. This is my 3rd season in the Prem now, I massively overachieved in my first season finishing 8th:

9u9hrr.png

So this brings me on to my problem. I cannot for the life of me seem to get any consistency going and my problem this year and every year in fact is understanding what is going wrong and what I need to change. I always have an idea in mind before I create a tactic of how I want to play but when the results don't come I am completely lost on what to do most of the time, I watch the game back on comprehensive highlights if a result didn't go as planned to try and find the problems but I just find myself staring at the screen not having a clue what I'm meant to be looking out for. Very frustrating.

This season is going very much like the last, finding it very hard to piece together any sort of form. I have been reading threads on here as of late, especially the one from @herne79 which was a brilliant read and I have tried implementing some of that in to my team and to a certain extend it is working:

2ikeg0.png

akbgk4.png

No.1 in the league for possession and miles ahead of any other team with passes completed but that means nothing if I'm not doing anything with that possession. I just played 1st placed Man City away from home and had 60% possession against them but lost 3-0 and didn't have a single highlight so something is very wrong somewhere...