Overall Guidance Wanted...

Hi all, I hope you're all well.

Ok, here's the deal.

I've been playing Football Manager games for nearly 20 years now. Starting with Premier Manager '97 way back when... and I've been playing FM for about 4 years. But here's the problem...

...I'm absolutely woeful at Football Manager.

Apart from one save in 2012 where I took Stockport County from the Conference to the Europa League in 7 seasons, and then got offered the England job, every other save I've had has been horrendous. Normally summarily dismissed after less than a season in charge after not meeting expectations, or alternatively having to resign after being relegated from the basement division (owing to the fact that the club either won't renew my contract, not because they don't adore me obviously :-/ , but because the game doesn't allow me to manage any lower in the pyramid...).

So, I'm reaching out to the wider FM community for help. I don't want you the play the game for me. But it would be good to know what things I'm doing wrong. But more IMPORTANTLY, WHY they're wrong, or WHY something else would be better. I don't want to just take a load of instructions from someone. I want to understand the game (or probably more accurately football) better.

So, here's a brief overview of what I do upon joining a club, and you can give me your opinion. All opinions welcome:

I always play Bottom Division or Conference clubs. I don't know why but the romantic in me just finds this more entertaining.

The first thing I do is sack all the staff (unless they're actually quite good). I then hire the Assistant Manager available with the best Ability and Potential Judgement stats, so that he gives me an assessment of the team's strengths and weaknesses. Then I hire the best Physio and Scouts that I can. That's pretty much it. Most LL clubs won't let you have much more.