Advice....

Hey guys,

I've been playing FM08 for nearly 10 years now and i still enjoy it.

I'm looking to try FM17 but how difficult is it?  I like fm08 because its not over saturated with tactical options or indepth match engine - i do think these are great additions but i prefer a toned down version of the game.  Should i play fm17?

Close to a decade of development means FM17 is the better simulation but that means there can be a lot more to do to get the most out of the game which might not be to your liking, try the demo to get a feel for it.

It really depends how you're playing. The match engine of older games was much more exploitable - if, for instance, you download tactics from the internet, pay no attention to them and expect good results, or sign 16 year olds from French colonies to your non-league side for £80 per week, 17 is going to be much harder. If you're already playing the game in a more considered way then I wouldn't say there's any significant difference in difficulty.

it depends on what you want really.  Is FM a game or a simulation.  I personally would like it to become even more of a simulation where it would be unrealastic to expect to take over a team in the national league and get them into the CL in a few years, how many teams have done that in the last 50 years, none as far as I am aware, it just does not happen, you should have to become a journeyman manager to do that.  There are loads of games online that will enable you to do that, the clues in the name they are games FM should be a simulation