Pole to Pölten: One man's eternal struggle with his FM impatience

ABOUT ME

Hello there, don't think i've ever created a thread on here before, so i'll introduce myself. My name's Felley and I only joined this forum relatively recently, but i've read various posts on it since I started playing. I got into FM about 3-4 years ago, so not really a long term football manager game guy. The first couple of FM editions I played got me slowly addicted and also eased me into my current playing style; one born of a gauntlet laid down to me by my mate where I had to do the classic Conference N/S to Champs League glory, only in less than 9 seasons. So i'll be the first to admit that I am a tad impatient with results. I've also had a very busy last 12-18 months in my real life, and with time at a premium, it's lead me to a place where i'm constantly starting new saves all over the globe looking for that bit of magic to get me interested again. Unfortunately, this new level of impatience has arrived at a time when FM is more complex - and better, IMO - than ever and it frustrates me that i'm not getting the most out of the game. So i've done that thing we all read about so often on this forum (it's almost become the forum's raison d'etre) and decided to sit down, get thorough and start to understand the “why?” and “how?” as opposed to just “what?”. I hope that my relative inexperience, busy life and impatience will inspire others to get their hands dirty with the game mechanics and prove that you don't need to go full boffin and dedicate your life to get the most out of this awesome game. If I can do it, anyone can!

THE PLAN