Clear Eyes, Full Hearts... Still Lose

joshpmilton

Hi guys. After playing the game for years, and being a forum member for quite a while now I've decided that Football Manager 13 is the year that I'll share my career save with the world. Been meaning to do one of these for a while, and my hope is that by chronicling the career, it'll spur me on when otherwise I may have considered starting over.

History (me, the player):

Started playing the Championship Manager series back in 2000, when I bought a copy of CM 1999/00 on the cheap as it was well past release date. Previously I'd played other management games on PlayStation (Premier Manager 98 & 99) as well as Ultimate Soccer Manager on the PC. However, once I started playing the CM series I knew it was different. My highlight before it all changed, was leading my beloved Tranmere Rovers to the Premier League and constantly dueling with Manchester United for the title, once winning the title with a stoppage time goal at Old Trafford. Unfortunately, I could never take that glory on into Europe, where I was consistently bettered by Barcelona & Leverkusen.

Moving on to the FM series, my favourite game to date was participating in the Dafuge challenge back on FM08, when I guided Maidstone United to the Premier League from the Conference South. As with the Tranmere save above, the ultimate glory was close, but just too far from my grasp - after a year in the top flight, we were relegated back to the Championship. I vowed to take the Stones back to the top flight, however lost in the Play-Offs that season and despite all that I'd achieved, was removed from my position at the end of that season.

The Aim: