The 3d Stadium discussion

?

Hi everyone,

I've been looking into the possiblility of making 3d stadia and crowds and came across a thing called the Google 3d warehouse, which contains ope source rendorings of a whole lot of stadia. Now, I have no experience of 3d rendoring, and correct me if I'm wrong, but would the likes of these nto work in FM09? The camara angles are just that- casmara angles. Its still a 3d stadium rendoring underneath.

Have a look here:

Old Trafford: http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/details?mid=1f8ba8e441d73f7faaa0c1ae2133ce97&prevstart=0

I know there is the issue of tagging per club. If this is indeed as problem, there are also downloadable crowds:

http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/details?mid=2fbb2b6690a6f3afa10841813535c0ed&prevstart=0

If anybody wants to make their own stuff, Google Isketch is apparently the way to go on this. Its seemingly very easy to use: http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehouse/. To download http://sketchup.google.com/intl/en/.

Whats evryones thoughts on this? Can anyone have a shot at including the 3d Old Trafford in the game?

I could make you 3D models of anything you wanted... but I know of no way to import these into the game engine...

Surely there is a file that contains these initial rendorings? ie: the stadia currently in the game. Would it not be an idea to just replace this file?

Iv'e had a quick look for the stadiums. The stadiums files seem to be in the following directory C:/program files/sports interactive/football manager 09/data/sigfx/meshes/stadium

This folder has the following 3d files

• football_stadium_01.sia
  • football_stadium_02.sia
  • football_stadium_03.sia
  • football_stadium_04.sia
  • football_stadium_05.sia
  • football_stadium_06.sia

and two graphic files

• pitch_outside_default.png
  • outer_pitch_shader.png

I’m assuming these files are the default stadiums.

There is also a disabled folder, which has the following files

• convert.bat
  • football_stadium_02.mtl