Building a Club Identity: Pink Passion

Introduction

I've recently started playing again and partly inspired by threads on this forum I thought I'd share my approach to building a club and instilling a club DNA. I am a bit of a veteran and have increasingly adopted a more "realistic" approach to the game and always approach the game from a real life football perspective. Usually I try to implement some form of fluid, passing 4-1-4-1 with a high press at the clubs I manage as that is the type of football I enjoy. With this project I went with a less conventional approach. I thought this would be interesting to share as it's something a little different which hopefully highlights the value of having a clear and overarching concept. This post won't go into great tactical detail and is more an example of how I play the game.

eFRuFyR.jpg

For this project we are taking a trip to the southern regions of the Serie A to the great club Palermo! Situated on the island of Sicily it's a club with a rich history and a slightly crazy chairman. Known for featuring some great talents in recent years (Pastore, Cavani and recently Dybala) and having a tumultuous spell of mixed results and a large variety of managers. Along we come to bring some stability to this heated environment and use our ambition to build long term success.

The Plan

Taking inspiration from our environment, the clubs history and Van Gaal's recent Dutch WC side I set out to build a philosophy for Palermo. I want to play structured, disciplined defensive Italian football with a back three and score goals with direct counter attacks relying on hard work and individual flair. I want to combine the passion and hard work for the club I associate with Palermo and the structured, disciplined defense and individual flair I associate with Italy.

Ypwiect.png

(Note the amount of rivalries, this club doesn't forget easily!)

From this I distill the following principles from which I will build our clubs Identity: