Move into channels? Once and for all, what does it mean, please?

Hi!

It is not often that I post on these forums, I am more of a reader. I'm coming from Sweden and have trouble to understand one vital element in Football Manager. I work as a coach in real life here in Sweden and I like the tactic area of the game. I try to come up with a formation and instructions that will apply well in a real game of football. I am not interested in fantasy tactics, I loose interest immediately if I play with that kind of tactic, but that's just me.

I always play as Chelsea, since it is the team I supported since I was a little boy. Now I couldn't resist starting a new game and see if I could create a tactic that will fit both Fernando Torres and Didier Drogba. I have played FM for many years, but it is for the last year or so that I have become really interested and absorbed about the tactical elements of the game.

I have a bit trouble to understand some aspects of the tactics instructions in the game. Move into channels, what does that really mean? I have googled it and I found lots of different explanations. I was looking for an answer from some of the SI staff, but I haven't found any. That's a shame I think, because if SI could have explained it, then I would appreciate the game more, since I would be able to build and understand what I'm really doing.

Does move into channels mean that a player drifts wide to the flanks or does it mean that the player is looking to find space between the opposition defence or midfield. Or does it mean that he will exploit the space between the CB and FB?

Lastly, which instructions are intended for "without the ball" and which are "with the ball"?

I hope you understand my questions. I hope someone can enlighten me.

Thanks,

Eric.

Channels are positions between two players.

So if they are playing two centre backs and you ask a player to move into channels they'll move inbetween the two centre backs.