A noob to the game both RL and FM10

Okay so I am a total noob to this game, as well as not that well versed in "soccer" being a Yank, but I want to be. I figure that this game being the premiere simulation of football would be the game to learn about the sport. Problem is that the learning curve is huge. So I ask are there panels/skins/etc that would assist me in learning what is needed by certain positions, tactics to favor based on team makeup that sort of thing that anyone would recommend?

Also what would all of you that have had the game forever recommend as far as add on's are concerned? I would also like to get extended databases for the game as I like to have the biggest experience possible, is there one out there that basically has pretty much all the players in the world/all the leagues in the world included?

Also if I was your buddy and I knew next two nothing what resources would you recommend for me to pick up to learn the game better. Thanks!

Best thing to do, would be to watch real football. Try the tactics forum for interesting discussion on the tactics and styles of teams, and they will also be able to help you on the certain attributes for each position, too.

Welcome to the forums, and indeed football. It's the greatest sport on earth :p

Welcome to the forum. Don't let being a Yank slow you down -- I'm one too and I picked up the game (of course, having played, coached and watched it for over thirty years, some of it SHOULD have rubbed off by now).

As for how to play this game, surf the Tactics forum. Learn from the people there. You will find the databases included with the game are pretty good as far as learning league structures and rivalries, which I find fascinating.

As for real football, Nep is right. Immerse yourself. Get FSC and its premium channel, and watch as much as you can.