Need help transferring my vision of football into FM

I am a beginner here so please excuse me if this is a dumb question

but why do all all my players seem to keep getting tripped and falling down over and over again and the opposition falls down maybe once per game?

It's infuriating to see them continually being tripped, falling down on their own, stopping in the middle of a breakaway to allow the opposition to take the ball away from them.

They seem to be completely useless.

The other thing is that when I give them instructions they don't follow.

Pass short/retain possession= they launch the ball all the way across the field right into the defense. When I am setting up set pieces,

I tell the corner kick taker to kick it short and again he launches a long ball into a bunch of defenders.

are they not listening to my instructions because team shape is fluid? or because instructions say be more expressive?

I have had those settings for quite a while and they followed those same instructions until recently and then suddenly stopped following my instructions for no reason.

The strange thing is my Everton team was doing incredibly well, got to second place behind Chelsea, and is in an unexplainable slump.

even my best players are playing like crap but morale and form are fine. It's just that they suddenly are playing terribly, from averaging about 7.5 rating per game to 6.5.

:mad:

can anyone shed light on what's going on?

I don't need a game to give me frustration and stress in my life, that's why I am playing the game, to escape my daily frustration and stress.

Thanks

It could simply be that the pressure of being title contenders has got to better of the players, on my save Girona were in 4th place in La Liga (predicted to go down) when the short winter break began, with 3 games left in the season they look like dropping into the bottom half of the table.