What happened to Strength stat??

Hi,

Just uploaded my new FM14 - took my LL team from Sweden that I was managing in FM13 … and 2 things have struck me…

1. All the players are significantly better than they were before. I now have several 4-5 star players whereas before I barely had a 3.5 star player…

2. And most importantly - they are all SO weak. The strength stat has plummeted. Two of the players are 12 & 13 strength - but all the others are lucky to be above 5. Many are on 1 or 2!

Is this right, or real?

Is the Strength stat a metaphorical indication of the physical 'footballing strength' of the player, as opposed to the pure muscle/physical stature on the field? Because I have had a lot of experience coaching real lower league players (Ryman etc) and they were all anything but weak. Finesse, touch, composure, skill may have lacked a little - but height, speed and most notably strength was in abundance with these guys… !

So what has happened?

A symptom of how SI rates lower league players - they generally have really poor attributes across the board. As I'm sure you'll agree, to play at Ryman League level you need to have something about you, whether that be technical, physical or mental ability. The reason they play non-league is they only have 1 or 2 of the 3, and are really lacking in one area. Obviously there are also some players that are just really average across the board.

Even at Sunday level we've all played with players who can strike a dead ball better than 95% of pros, or are strong as an ox, or quicker than Michael Owen in his prime. A guy in my Sunday team is literally one of the most lethal finishers I've ever seen at any level, he just does not miss. But he doesn't have the dedication or belief to get himself in shape and play even at Ryman level.