What is the point of co-ownership?

I just started playing in Italy for the first time in a couple of years, and I had forgotten all about this. I see most notably Kwadwo Asamoah is co-owned by Udinese, although this seems to have little practical effect on my ability to play him or treat him like any other player.

What is the cost/benefit of this arrangement?

As the selling club it allows you to generate income against a player's potential, if you're a small side with limited cash-flow then it's better to make some money now rather than risk getting nothing in the future if he turns out to be a dud or walks out on a Bosman, the downside is that if you want to keep the player beyond the sealed bid stage then you might end up paying more to buy back the 50% share than you received for it.

For the buying club it allows you to cost effectively line up potential future first team players & have them gain regular 1st team experience elsewhere, if the player develops as expected then there is a chance you'll get him at a reasonable price when the sealed bids are made to obtain 100% of his registration, if you're careful in your outlay then if the player doesn't turn out to be as good as was expected the loss should be minimal but there is always the risk of spending the bulk of your transfer budget on players that you never fully own if you go mad & waste it all on unfulfilled potential.

Biggest thing putting me off managing in Italy. Just cannot get my head round it. Briefly managed Napoli and my best keeper was co-owned by another team and he was playing for them. Just couldn't understand it or see the point.

It is somewhat analogous to buy-to-rent schemes, or owning 50% control over a company.