Help! Praising my players always makes things worse... how to do this successfully?

As you can probably see from my number of posts: I'm new to FM and bought FM24. Watched a lot of videos and starting to get the hang of most things in the game - but here's one thing that I am really struggling with:

I'm trying to bend my head around how to praise my players, because somehow I don't seem to have the needed insight/information about the player and just say the wrong things. Here's a player I'm now looking at; Roy:

1. I check his morale: Happiness: His morale is at 'Fair'. He just got injured, so I think I may want to talk with him.

2. I open his character page and go to 'Discuss'. My Assistant Manager says: "I recommend talking to Roy to praise his performance in the last match."

3. Okay... how do I see how he played in his last match? I see his ability score is on the rise... His form was 7.1 in the former last match, but only 6.0 in the last match, so that doesn't really give me the idea he played well? From the 'Squad' view, I can see he made an assist and a goal, but I don't know in which game. His AV RAT is at 7.27, but 'last 5 games' is at 7.00... I'm not sure what that all tells me... he's not doing as well as earlier? Why am I praising him for the last match? -- carrying on...

4. Discuss -> Praise Last Game... Now I get 4 options to choose from:
"You were superb with the number and quality of chances created in the last match, keep it up"
"I thought your quality and choice of pass last time out was sensational; keep up the good work!"
"Your tackling was spot on in the last match, keep it up!"
"I really enjoyed your more direct approach in our last match, that's what we're looking for"