Andrew Robertson Role

I;m currently managing wolves, but I'm attempting to recreate Liverpool's 4123. I'm an amateur when it comes to creating tactics but one thing I'm trying to do is recreate Andrew Robertson's role in Liverpool's current side. I actually have in in my side and am currently using him as a WB (A)with the PI to stay Wider as he is often seen bombing up and down the left hand side and crossing the ball into the box. Is this somewhat accurate?

Also is this tactic a fair representation of current Liverpool? Thanks.

image.png

Well, LFC under Klopp actually play in a 4-3-3 without DM. In LFC's real-life formation, even wide forwards (Salah and Mane) are not wingers but outer strikers. However, when translating their way of playing into FM, they are more of Inside Forwards (moreover, Salah in my view is rather a Raumdeuter), so you have basically set the formation as it should look like (except for DM, but given that you manage Wolves, maybe it's not a bad idea to use a DM).

As for Robertson, he can be utilized in many ways as a left back, depending on a particular match and/or opponent. In most cases though, he is either FB attack or WB support.

I'll come back later to tell you more on the tactic, but what I can immediately observe is that you set a number of wrong TIs.

There's lots of topics on Liverpool/Klopp already with peoples interpretations of it so i'm just going to focus on yours as I think you've gone a bit extreme with the instructions:

• Run At Defence - Why?  WB-A, IF-S, IF-A and CF-S already Dribble Often.  Who else do you expect to dribble by adding this instruction?
  • Exploit Left Flank + Exploit Right Flank - They are already attacking due to the roles you've selected, do you really want to focus play down the flanks and make them more attacking?  Especially when your already on attacking mentality?