Ravens Rising (Short)

viperk1

Many people say that there are events that remain long in the memory – that stay with you as you grow old. I used to say that they were all talking nonsense. However, now that my days are coming to an end, I know now that they were right.

There was a time, over forty years ago now, when I was a football manager. Despite my international pedigree as a player, my career on the touchline started down in the small London borough of Bromley. I never knew, back then, that I would take them on a journey that would stun the footballing masses.

Affectionately known as the Lilywhites or the Ravens by their supporters, the Nationwide Conference South club played their football at the little known ground of Hayes Lane. It paled in comparison to the venues that made me the most highly regarded footballer in England – but for me, it was home.

I joined Bromley following their promotion to the 2nd tier of non-league football in 2007. They had just lost their manager under acrimonious circumstances and needed someone to keep them in the division – though naturally, they didn’t expect someone like me to show up at the doors to Hayes Lane.

Everyone has to start somewhere, right?

Back then, everyone expected us to be dragged back into the league from whence we came – and with the squad of players in my possession, I knew exactly why. Whilst there were the odd shining lights such as the former Comber Recreation FC centre-back Scott McCrory and young striker Garath McCleary, I felt that the squad would be eaten alive in the Conference South. It was practically abysmal.