A First Career Thread Down At Blackwell Meadows

Dan McCullough

Darlington_FC_(crest).png.6f3ca16ffc61a1c94c4daa9f90b11968.png

Welcome to Darlington

This is my first attempt at creating a career update thread, so firstly thanks for actually clicking on this thread. As you can see, I will be managing Vanarama National North side Darlington F.C.

I decided to open this thread as I have been enjoying documenting my progress with several teams over in the English Football League Thread and with me now wanting to start from the lowest playable league in the English pyramid, I thought it would be cool to do something here.

Why Darlington?

Well, I have quite a fondness for Non-League and so I wanted to start a fresh save there. Being from the Wigan area, I am a true Northerner and therefore I decided to start in the North rather than the South, besides we all know that the North is much better. ;) I was originally attracted by my local club Chorley, however I had managed them on previous instalments of the game so I wanted a different challenge. Darlington were that challenge for a number of reasons. They have a very interesting recent history, which I will briefly go over. The club were relegated from League Two in the 2009/10 season after financial issues. The following season, the club would finish in 7th, but go on to win the FA Trophy beating Mansfield Town 1-0 at Wembley.