How Do You Solve A Problem Like Finances?

Something that has irked me ever since I started playing FM is the way we are held accountable for financial problems at our clubs. FM08 and the introduction of the confidence system made us fully culpable for financial miss-management, when as far as I’m concerned real life managers would have little or no say in the financial goings on of a football club and as such could not be held responsible for any financial problems.

We should not be able to exceed our wage budget at all, and the board should not provide a wage budget that may leave the club in difs. At FC Bayern I ran a loss every month despite managing a wage spend of less than 50% of the budget. The board must have been in a suicidal mood when they assigned the wage budget, if I had spent anywhere near full budget, and not achieved any success, the club would have been in serious trouble.

There appears to be no level of forward planning from the board at all, and little or no oversight of transfer activity. We can easily spend our full budget on one player without interference/suggestion/concern expressed by the board about the future of the club.

On checking finances you will see a variety of other costs that we have no control over, and tbh are so ambiguous that I don’t know what they include. Non-footballing costs, affect our finances, but we can’t do anything about them, even if they seem too expensive.

There were well documented examples of United, Chelsea, Arsenal and Liverpool all maintaining their loan debt despite having the budget to pay the debt off.

It does feel like some boards are on a suicide mission.

The major problem is that, we are held accountable for these problems and can be sacked as a result of poor financial management, when we receive no help or guidance from the board.