Suggestion: PES2009 engine

Hey guys. I've been playing PES for ~6 yrs now after playing FIFA 5 yrs before that. I love soccer, I've played FM/CM since 01/02, have been a beta tester, a researcher and love the game.

I've searched for this and haven't found anything, so my apologies if it's been discussed.

While playing PES recently, it just hit me: the engine is perfect! and the AI is pretty damn good. with tweaks, it could be amazing.

The great thing about the PES engine is that it takes into account players' stats. A player with 60 passing is sure to miss a **** load of passes, and pass the ball much slower than one with 85. differences in passing, speed, acc, ball control, w/e...they're all very very noticeable.

As a bonus, the engine is already designed to work with a lot of stats compared to, say, FIFA which uses no more than 10-12 AFAIK. PES has ~25 + special abilities like goal-scoring,dribbling, post player, side-line, one touch, outside of the boot, sliding tackle, etc. Not to mention it's designed to work with just as many player positions as FM as well as it supports players playing in multiple positions (that, is, if you play a player out of position, it will hurt his performance in-game).

Possibly the biggest gripe with the PES AI stems from the fact that it's easily beat-able by a human player. Absolutely true. But who cares? we're not going to be playing.

The AI puts in a good game, players run off the ball quite well and teams generally play to the best of their ability. That is, if u're fiorentina playing full strength Man Utd, if you play offensively you will get a 5-2 thrashing enough times.

The goalkeepers are actually rather good, and again, if not for human player awesomeness (that is, if you'd watch AI v AI games) the goalkeepers would be pretty damn good.