How to build a lower league club ?

Hello everyone, 

As Im not that experienced with this game , I usually picked a big club and went on with it.

Right now however, I decided to play a lower league ( Tranmere Rovers league 2 England ) and see how things go.

From what I read on the forums the common advice for lower league is to save as much money as possible for when you go up.

( loan players , dont pay high wages , dont scout on things you cant afford ).

What I cannot find however , is what to spend the actual money on while you are climbing the ladder ?

- Should I invest in getting a good staff and train players up that way so they sell faster and/or for more ?

- Should I try to invest in facilities and try to get a good youth academy becoming a money printing machine ? 

- Should I save up money to get that one special wonderkid , sell him for double and repeat ? 

TLDR ; Im kinda lost what to spend the money on which I read I should really save and on what I should invest in order to realize slow permanent club growth.

As I unexpedtedly promoted , a new "under 23" team is created. Does this team also get paid from my wage budget set by the board ? 

It kind of depends on where your priorities lie.

If you are looking for 'rags-to-riches' success on the field then invest n first-team squad. If you are looking at building a long-term legacy then invest in youth and facilities. The U23s  (and u18s) are paid out of your wage budget, but you have the option here of building a pathway for youngsters - so shop around the players released from bigger clubs. Make some money from the youth system.

Find a balanced approach.

I enjoy playing tiny clubs because of the financial challenges. I focus on trying to upgrade training facilities and coach staff with a focus on physical training - always keeping wages under control.