Change your tactic/roles based on starting 11 (particularly your partnerships)?

I'm a relative novice with tactics, so I'm somewhat winging it here, trying to assimilate as much knowledge as I can.

I'm using a 4-2-3-1 with a Trequarista at the AMC spot and a Poacher at ST. I have three possible strikers that I rotate: 1) best role is AF or TM, 2) best equipped for six different roles, but I've been using him mostly as a Poacher, 3) best role is AF.

My question is this: should I change the role of my striker based on who is playing? All the guys I use as my Trequarista are best equipped for that role, so no real need to change that, unless another role would work better with my changing ST role.

I tend not to do change the role at all. I am sure many do, but in my case, and maybe yours, I have thought out how I want the team to play and designed the tactic around the idea. Changing roles can really disrupt the whole machine, so I don't like to do it. I'd rather stick a less effective player in the role I want as I believe most times the job it does in the tactic is more beneficial than a slightly weaker player doing it, if that makes sense. I think in this case, you could interchange an AF and Poacher and not see a great deal of difference. The target man, though, would be a role that would change how your team plays- players will look to lump it in to him, so I wouldn't use that unless that is what you want or could envision it fitting into the bigger picture.

I'm with the Doc here. A system is built around combinations of Roles and Duties, so to change one of those key elements just to incorporate a player who is "better" in another Role could cause the whole system to break.

It's better to make a player adapt to a Role, than it is to compromise the whole system to accommodate him in his preferred Role.