The Skye's The Limit

phnompenhandy

This is my first time here - I hope my story is deemed acceptable as it is a bit unconventional.

THE SKYE’S THE LIMIT

Back Story:

Since its modest establishment in the 1970s, Sabhal Mor Ostaig, the world’s first Gaelic college on the Isle of Skye has gone from strength to strength. James McLeod, whose lineage on Skye goes back into the Scotch mists of history, recently extended the project by founding a Gaelic-medium secondary school, and in 2007 created a new football team, Skye Thistle, which has just been entered into the lowest tier of the Scottish ladder, Scottish Welfare Division 3. The players don’t have to have been born on Skye, but they do need to have attended the school, to which they tend to be fiercely loyal. These lads know they are representing their heritage and culture in a unique footballing project.

What does this mean in FM terms?

1. I have loaded up alexdeanlives’ Alternative Scottish league file. He has an SPL of 20 teams, then from Levels 2 to 14 the divisions are all of 24 teams with linear progression rather than a pyramid system. http://community.sigames.com/showthread.php/451328-FM16-Alternative-Scottish-Leagues-15-levels!
  2. I amended most of the club reputations and added a few clubs with the editor – personal preferences such as Rothesay Brandanes and a couple of fantasy teams such as Isle of Islay, The University of the Highlands & Islands, and my own at the bottom levels.
  3. I created my club, Skye Thistle, and gave it the lowest reputation and minimal facilities.
  4. I created a squad of 22 14- and 15-year old boys with the minimal CA.
  5. In order to ‘fix’ their loyalty to the cause, I had to make the club professional and give all the players 20-year contracts on 10 quid a week and added the clause ‘Will leave club at end of contract’. If we get into semi-pro and later professional leagues I will increase the salaries in line with divisional averages.