How exactly do you win?

This is more of a rhetorical question rather than a plea for help. I have noticed a disconcerting trend that WSM is getting harder and harder. I'll be the first to admit it; I'm not very good at the tactics. I don't understand how to apply what I see on the pitch to the sliders, nor do I think SI does a very good job explaining how to prevent against certain reoccurances (IE you give the ball away too much or the AI beats you consistently on through balls), but this was never a problem. The reason for this was because other people actually knew what they're doing and put their tactics on the boards! That way, I could actually have fun with the game because the tactics worked and the best team usually won.

Naturally, I expected Patch 9.02 to be the same but, oh my, was I wrong. I've tried essentially every single tactic on the forums and none work with any consistency. By "work", I mean "win", because I am nearly always the better team, yet I do not win.

Here's why:

1. Cannot put away surefire opportunities. Now, my strikers are Pandev and Robinho who are supposedly pretty good, right? Yet they manage to screw up 95% of 1v1 opportunities. Why? I usually get something like 7 shots on target, and 15 off target. And it's not because the are low percentage shots. Pretty much everyone on my team cannot hit the target.

2. Superkeepers. The AI keeper makes miraculous saves. Or maybe my shots aren't very good. Probably both. Scott Carson's face has the permanent imprint of a ball on it every time I play West Brom but he always stops the 1v1s or point-blank headers.

3. How the hell are you supposed to be defense? The AI wingers are faster than my fullbacks (Srna and Zhirkov) no matter who they are. The AI always has unmarked players on crosses. The AI always gets breakaways and counterattacks. The AI gets a few CCs every game; the only difference is that they convert them. I don't.