Can you judge a player by his stats?

Ok so I've been playing FM for a few years now. I am quite successful with who ever I manage however I've now decided that my "judging player ability" skills are pretty poor. I have signed some players in the past and I have deemed them to be stars for my club as there stats can in some cases be brilliant.

However. In my past I've signed players and they haven't performed at all. So I'm asking you guys how do you normally look at players before signing them?

For example when looking at a good centre half I would usually look at heading, marking, tackling, strength, jumping and pace... I look at those usually before I look at other stats. If they had good enough stats in these areas you would probably look at signing him. However once I have signed a player of that class he usually doesn't Perform as he should.

I'd like to know if your successful with your buys and what do you look at before buying them and also try and help to see why and where I'm going wrong?

Can you judge a player by his stats? - To some degree, yes.

My interpretation of what might be going wrong is that you are focusing far too much on 'Technical' attributes. For instance Marking, Tackling and Heading are far less important than, say, Positioning, Anticipation and Strength.

Mental and Physical attributes easily trump technical ones.

Regardless of position, I always look for:

VERY HIGH Priority: Pace, Stamina

HIGH Priority: First Touch, Anticipation, Work Rate, Strength, Determination

OTHER: Technique, Teamwork, Composure,

My two cents :-)

The main attributes are the mental ones, they "control" the technical ones. Thats not just my interpretation but how the game works.