Notification of other teams bidding for players on my shortlist

I'm fairly new to this football manager malarkey, but I have a question. Yesterday, I sent my scout off on a scouting missing, and three of the people he recommended looked pretty handy and at a reasonable price (I'm playing Notts County, so 'reasonable price' actually means pretty cheap!). I added them to my shortlist. Other teams were interested for all three, but no bids had been made as yet. I wanted a bit of time to weigh up my options, and I wasn't in a transfer phase in the season, so I didn't make a bid, just put them on the shortlist so I could go back once the transfer stage opened.

Come 1st Jan, all three players had been purchased by other teams. Is there any reason I didn't get notification that a team had put a bid in on a player on my shortlist? Thinking about it, I've never had notification of this type. Is there some way I can turn it on? I know there's an option when making a bid for it to be private, but surely the AI doesn't use this for every single transfer?

well, i don't think that you would be notified in real life would you? or would you have spies in all the boardrooms in the world? ;)

and most transfer negotiations would probably be in private i think in real life, and a leak would come through the media only.

in fact i think the game may reflect this in that you may get a little news item but obviously they all pile up and i don't think anyone reads through all the news items as thouroughly as the messages.

You know, I had the exact same problem for absolutely ages! It's not in the Transfer Centre. Instead, there's a tab along the top called 'Search' or some such and it's accessable through that.