Newbie to Football Manager....

I'm new to Football Manager- as in never played before and finally took the plunge.

Given that I'm American I have had next to zero exposure to soccer/football so (unlike Out of the Park Baseball) I'm sort of at a loss on what I need to do when running a team or how professional soccer "works".

Is there any tutorials or sites that are helpful to noobs like me who are almost soccer/football ignorant?

Any help would be appreciated.

What luck! I'm an American-born european whose first introduction to association football was through football manager 2007. I will tell you now I was awful but I learned through:

• Watching real games.
  • Picking a team to follow and following them (Aston Villa of the English Premier League in my case.)
  • Reading online websites for tips.
  • Asking friends who played the game.

I'm not entirely sure if there are any tutorials, but I'll have a look around for you - I know firsthand how massively difficult it is to get started without any help. One of the best things you can do is pick a team (preferably a good one) and just dive in, mess around, don't set yourself any goals other than to learn how it works. Pay attention to what the AI does. Most of the game is pretty self explanatory, it's just learning what all the various stats/sliders/etc. do that is the most difficult part.

The link posted in the previous post should help as well. Good luck. :)

I know how the game is played- but nothing about how a team "works" in regards to team management stuff. I've got the Tactics and Training docs which explains how to set up basic tactics (which I understand).

So any thing you guys can point me to on the topic of "managing your team effectively" or "team management basics" would be very appreciated.