Why is FM taking longer and longer to load up?

I've been playing FM for many years but I'm finding FM09 is taking longer and longer to boot up to get to the new game/load last game/load game main menu.

The black screen with the flickering 'Loading' text in the bottom corner is taking longer and longer.

What could be causing this??

Any ideas?

Right, I didn't think of this. I've just checked-

Use skin cache IS NOT ticked

Always reload skin on confirm IS ticked

Would this be the cause?

That'll be it, your game is loading up your graphics every time you load the game.

You want to have 'use skin cache' ticked, unless you are adding new graphics at the time.

i was having problems with my FM loading up and my spec isn't too bad.

A couple of thing I did that have now made the game much faster is to make sure that the priority of processor power assigned to FM is 'Very High', I donwloaded a program that let me do this in the Windows Task Manager (you know, control-alt-delete) but I forget what it was called.

Also, and this was purely out of curisity, but I removed my processor and gave it a damn good clean. After a couple of years of having it the amount of dust that had built up inside it was quite substantial and after I spent about 15 minutes scraping it off gently with a dry cotton bud (or cue tip for our yank friends) this alone must have speeded up processing by a good 300-400%, so much so that it now only takes my PC about 4-5 seconds to initialise the 3D view wheras before it would take about a minute.

A couple of thing I did that have now made the game much faster is to make sure that the priority of processor power assigned to FM is 'Very High'

This can make your OS unstable, as it will neglect other system tasks to process FM.