[Suggestions]My thoughts and considerations

1. MANAGER DETAILS

1. Manager birthplace and/or region

Upon creating a new manager, the player is asked to specify a place of birth. This could be done using the existing database of football clubs and their respective cities and towns. Alternatively, a number of regions (provinces) and cities could be specified for each nation.

This place of birth can be used as extra information in the media. If I’m a manager born in Liverpool, a transfer to Liverpool F.C. might be mentioned in the media as: “the 46-year-old manager will be returning to his home town to coach Liverpool F.C.” or “the Liverpool-born manager will be coaching the football club of his home town.”

2. More use of favourite clubs in media

It would be nice to see more information on the manager’s favourite club. If it is rumoured that I’ll be signing with AFC Ajax, which happens to be my favourite club, I would like to see something like “the manager could be signing for his favourite club in the coming days”. This could also be used for more in-depth questions in interviews.

3. First club of manager

The manager can specify his previous career by choosing from options like ‘international player’ and ‘Sunday league amateur’. It would be nice to be able to be able to specify which team was the first team you played for. This could be used in interviews and newspaper items.

4. Favourite personnel

It would be interesting to be able to specify your favourite personnel. This could be used while negotiating a contract with another club, see also the next section. Also, more focus should be put on this aspect of the game. It is too difficult to become a club icon, in my opinion. Winning the Champions League twice when it was deemed absolutely impossible at the start of the first season should be enough to win the fans’ acclaim and become a club icon.

2. SIGNING WITH A CLUB