The Evolution of klopp's tactics

Hey everyone this is my first time creating a topic in this forum but im really exciting to share my tactical experience with you guys and show you some wonderful stuff

this post has helped me a lot and a lot of the ideas have come from here

@Experienced Defender also learned a lot from experienced defender mainly the defensive side of football and how to make your team rock solid in the defence

also using Total football analysis from YouTube helped a lot

Klopp, the genius on counter pressing and counter attacking football!

klopp.thumb.jpg.6664641183aefbabb04117853f5456c6.jpg

1:Pressing systems

During his time in Dortmund, his style of play was a lot different from what it is now.

Klopp's Dortmund focused on transition moments, his approach was to quickly press the opposition after loosing the ball this is obviously called "Gegenpressing" and after winning it back to quickly transition from defence to attack but in order to execute this properly his team had to play a narrow shape and this is why in his Dortmund team he tended to play or regain possession more through one side of the pitch.

as you can see in this picture they were focusing play down the right side of the pitch and pressing there also.

603489802_kloppdortpress.thumb.png.f7a652d6a41e52896e78938b6bb5cacf.png

At Liverpool Klopp's pressing approach became even more proactive with sometimes also using a mid-press mainly to set up pressing traps, Horizontal passes are also a pressing trigger. They use the wingers (mane, salah) to start the press by forcing the centre backs to play into central areas but in order to do this he had to change his formation to a 4-3-3.

forcing teams to go central and eventually forcing them to go long.

96c945e4a7dad26b0449ffaa83325ab3.thumb.png.00e4644586928f823be780f49d94a925.png

2: Attacking what changed for Klopp when he joined Liverpool