To all of you complainers... listen up!

I have been playing this series since 1991! Read that again!!! Since 1991. That makes me 35 today. I can still think straight as I write this, I hope. I have played every single game that the Collyer brothers and their colleagues have put out there. Every one of them!

To all of you teenagers and other complainers out there:

What SI has done is a GREAT EVOLUTIONARY STEP in the development of this franchise. This is what great dynasties are made of. They know how to bridge from one generation to the next, and this is what the boys are doing with this year's release.

Sure, it's not polished, it has its issues, but it was a necessary step to keep the dynasty on top.

Go back, play some of those games from 7-8 years ago. They were fun. It was fun imagining what was going on the pitch. But now, you can actually watch a football match. And get a great management game with it. How can that be bad? How is that not the right thing to do?

I saw this coming some time ago, but people need to face the reality: the text-based limits of a game have been reached with all the features SI has put into the game over the last ten-fifteen years. Had they done more, it would have folded on its own weight (too clumsy to do anything in it). Simply put, one area where they had not done much was the game presentation itself. That is one aspect of the game that needed a major overhaul. You can still play text-only but the point was to move from the dark-ages into today.

I commend them for taking this step, even if it is not EA-style presentation. The point was to make that move, to make that hard call. From here on, it will only get better and in a few years you will have the game that you all wanted. Yet, you can help build it with your suggestion, not your damn complaining.