Newbie Q: club with no money and not even a full first team under contract

I'm new to FM games (played half a season on FM11 and now on FM12, just starting). I'm also not even particularly familiar with real world football.

I am playing a semi-professional team and half my team don't even have a contract with me. We have no money to spend, we're already in some debt.

What should I do to at least get a team under contract? It seems that the players with no contract won't even display the "current ability" / "potential ability" star ratings. Does this mean I should send scouts to look at my own players!?

Assuming I need to focus on raising money, does this mean I need to organise lots of friendlies, even when the season is going on? Or is that stupid/impossible?

What should my priorities be? What is the risk of all the non-contracted players disappearing? Or is that unlikely unless I start getting news items saying they are actively being scouted? Should I do an individual talk with each of them to see how they're feeling?

Let me know if I need to provide any further information.

I think you need to sign some players first, the player's who aren't under contract sound like "greys" rather than real players. I've not got FM12 but I thought your assistant/coaching staff were more helpful than before? Have you tried the tutorial? apparently it's v.good for newbies :thup:

from the sounds of it, you don't have enough players, and the players you do have do not have current and potential ratings yet?

to solve the current player problems, you can offer the "gray players" on your team contracts, or you can scout out some free agents and offer them contracts if they're willing to come to your club. usually you can find a few that are decent enough.