Conceding penalties

After winning League 2 in my first season I'm struggling to stay up in League 1. I'm in 22nd place with 32 matches gone, but I havent been helped by the 10 (ten) penalties I have conceded in the League alone this season. Does anyone know why I am giving away so many penalties and how I can stop it because they are invariably late equalisers and winners and it's getting a bit annoying.

Maybe in the first season your defenders were some of the best in the league and had tight marking so they won most of their "battles" with the strikers but now the strikers are better and they aren't winning those "battles" anymore? Maybe stop them tight marking or play Zonal instead of mixed or man?

PS i'm no tactical expert :p

OK, im now on zonal marking and standard tackling. The good news is I won my next two matches, 4-0 v Tranmere and 1-2 at Swindon. I also went 2-0 up early on at home to Bristol Rovers. But then My centre half gave a way penalty number 11 of the season. 2-1 at half time. This one was fair enough though, chopping down the striker as he ran in on goal. Most of the others seem to have been for clumsy off the ball incidents.

The Bristol Rovers match finished 2-2 and was quickly followed by a local derby, Stockport at home. 0-1 at half time I was in real trouble but the players praised my half time rollocking, which turned the game around as we strolled the second half for a final score of 4-1. All of a sudden the great escape looks on.

Do you people ever get penalties get called against you? In 4 seasons I've only had one. And I had like 20 penalties for me which my player only missed once. I've set my GK as the PK shooter now to see if he's gonna miss it or score it to experiment something I've been thinking.