I want to counter-attack effectively on FM20

As the title says really!

I've started a new save with Rennes; I figured with them being a mid-table(ish) team  it would be an effective way to play in the French league.

I've been playing since 2013 but wrapping my head around tactics is something I've always been awful at.

Can anyone give me advice? I understand that I'd need another tactic against the Dijon's and Brest' of the league but I'm also unsure as to where to go with that.

Tactic 2.png

Tactic 1.png

I'm not the expert you probably need but I do know some things. 

1- first tactic is awful it's not counter attacking its just bad your attack is completely isolated, that even if you punt the ball foward you will not win the second ball, I would quickly discart that

2- 4-2-3-1 even deep is not the greatest counter attacking formation but It can definitely work and we'll. 

3- On the 4-2-3-1 is your dlp good enough? If he is your pair in midfield is good. 

4- a rule I have is if the fb is on attack the winger is on support, if the winger is on attack the fb is on support or defend, I see you already have an attacking winger so I would advice to not have two, instead I would change your right fullback to a simple fullback on attack. The rest seems fine in your 4-2-3-1 

Btw what you can do is change your 424 to a standard 442 because the 442 is a great counter tactic and is really good defensevly or even a 4222 with 2 dm and two wide mids in the midfield slot

Edited by Strikerir1

I've never managed to get an AM/AP/SS to work to my liking (I have a DLP at the DM tier and a BWM/BBM or MEZ at the CM tier), but otherwise that 2nd formation looks like an solid base to work from for refining your counter :-)

Maybe have the left WB as WB(A) to balance out the sides and give the DLP a quicker outlet?

Maybe add more urgent or tighter marking to your front 4 or generally to create a midish block?

Are one of your CBs decent on the ball and could be a BPD?