Inconsistency issues and getting the best out of stars

I'm looking for some tactical advice, I've been playing FM for a few years but wouldn't say I'm an expert.

We're into March 2024 and I've managed to get my Rochdale team into the PL. We've had two seasons of it finishing around 10th each time but we've never a game against the top 6.

I tried to switch things up this year and I've spent a bit of money improving the team. My aim was to play high pressure football win the ball back quickly and then give my front three some freedom to take their time making chances.

I created my own 4123 around Christmas and we were initially successful winning a lot and going unbeaten for a long run. Then things seemed to fall apart and we've been on a long losing/drawing streak of about 8 games. As well as the tactics shown here most of my players have the tackle harder and mark tighter PIs.

673778651_Tacticsoverview.thumb.jpg.04d4727d6f8ff73a28290ae2c42f453c.jpg

I'm sure there's something obvious that I'm doing wrong, my team is slightly warped by three players I'm trying to get the most out of.

Can anyone help with this tactical conundrum? Are we just out of depth trying to challenge in the PL? And how would you play to get the most out of the three best players I've got (I've been training Moreaux to be more of a striker)?

I've not really posted here before so tell me if I'm doing something dumb.

Moreaux.thumb.jpg.e7a2723dcc95e10ccfcf72e9eb95b6e9.jpgBenny.thumb.jpg.4f5735fa15203b1b6a4de351a8876b1c.jpgAkpala.thumb.jpg.5fd2eb7fa3ed6066aae2f4e2166c94cb.jpg

You have a weird combination of instructions.

On one hand your trying to attack through width and through balls. On the other your wanting shorter passes and the advanced wide players to play safer and look for overlaps of the FBs.

If they're being safer, who's all those through balls for?  If your spreading wider whos available for a shorter pass?