[FM18] Re-writing the DNA

JohanCruyff#14

My days of getting lost in a good FM save are not what they used to be, or at least don’t happen as often as they used too. Several reasons for that, two young kids, a demanding job, life in general. I’ve been playing Football Manager for over 20 years now, but still admit to struggling from time to time, particularly on the tactical side, as the game has gotten more in depth. Up until relatively recently, my playing patterns were predictable. I’d fire up a game and start a save as one of my three favorite teams, Aston Villa, D.C. United, or A.C. Milan. Over the last few years that pattern hasn’t been as enjoyable, partly because despite their real-world struggles, these teams were relatively easy to resurrect and make successful. I wanted a different type of challenge. Shortly after the release of FM16, I started a save with Italian Serie C side, A.C. Pavia, and got them promoted to Serie B at the first attempt. It was the most enjoyment I got out of a save in years, then not long into my second season, my laptop died, and that was that.

One of the facets that interests me most is club building, not building a team, building a club, for me this means shaping a club from top to bottom. This takes time of course. I finally got around to replacing that laptop and here I am with FM18, suffering from the same predictability pattern. So, I’m giving Spain a try. I have two aims here:

1. Find a team that has never enjoyed success at the highest level
  2. Make them my club

The first aim easy to achieve, there are an abundance of such teams in any nation. The second aim, well that’s a little more obscure. But here’s what I want to do, build the club along a predetermined set of philosophies that are not necessarily outlined or guided by the board. Essentially, I want to shape the DNA of a club, or perhaps reshape it, like Arsene Wenger did with Arsenal in the first decade of his reign. And I see this being defined in 3 ways: